Remove this ad
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#861 [url]

7 July, 2015 07:09:18

Surprisingly I get it.
So it has to be basically one block for each column with no fancy diamond stuff in the middle? Works for me.
So just stick with marble columns I think.
I'm doing work experience this week... Waitoring and cleaning baby chairs... But luckily it's only 3 hours a day which is much better than my friends' 6-9 hours in an office :/

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
avatar

SCneophyte

Moderator
Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,213 Member Since:19 December, 2014

#863 [url]

8 July, 2015 03:04:57

super excited!  my chunk insertion program now takes 1.3 seconds rather than 3.5 minutes :)

for some weird reason, though, I still have to zip the file on my Windows laptop...zipping it on my mac causes the world to corrupt.  I've spent hours trying to figure out why.  Oh well, I carry them both with me at all times anyways...

sometime soon we'll be able to trust my program enough that we can just send the chunks file back and forth, though I do like to see my handiwork :)

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#864 [url]

8 July, 2015 16:56:45

Sorry for the late reply, I have no excuse since I was active everywhere else.

Anyway that's great! That means it's like 20 seconds for all chunks at once, right?
Massive improvement. How did you do it?

Haha maybe a program which I can email..

*machine takes world and starts whirring uncontrollably and explodes*

Love it!

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

SCneophyte

Moderator
Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,213 Member Since:19 December, 2014

#865 [url]

9 July, 2015 01:10:51

no worries, i just don't have anyone who really cares :)

It hit me that the code was unnecessarily complex...simplified and it was the key! 

Took 1.3 seconds for 337 chunks so bring it on!  The program also keeps track of how many of each chunk are replaced.

Can you double-check the world named "new program" in the 06 Jun > 0612 folder in my dropbox?  Everything looked fine to me except the shard was replaced...wonder why that is?  I just want you to say that the world doesn't lag or otherwise misbehave.

 

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#866 [url]

9 July, 2015 15:05:23

OK checking now

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#867 [url]

9 July, 2015 15:21:02

The world is fine, but we need to find out why the spawn island has two massive rock chunks stabbing through it... I like how I can see a bit of Palm tree sticking through, quite funny...

Check your program, I'll think about why it could have happened too.

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

SCneophyte

Moderator
Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,213 Member Since:19 December, 2014

#868 [url]

10 July, 2015 01:15:41

Well, now I'm worried.  Is this after you changed the marble texture to bedrock and you've started placing marbles?  Could there be a two marble stack?  Is that even two-marble chunk?

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#869 [url]

10 July, 2015 07:48:49

I'd never place two marble on top of each other, unless I had something special planned. I think that chunk is 11chunk, so unless I accidently had a seizure and didn't notice, in no way could I haveplaced marble.
Also it's only one chunk :)

I'm going to have a look underground that chunk, see if there's something strange going on.

Then I'll check the co-ordinates and see if that's weird.

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#870 [url]

10 July, 2015 08:00:48

Had a gander.

The only thing different to other chunks is that there are a few saltpeter Ores hanging around. I don't see how this affects the program, but maybe there's some line of code that's a bit evil.

I have a theory, but it's all very unlikely and more unlikely than anything I've ever said...

Check the block I'd of saltpeter? Is it 11? If so saltpeter could be weirding up the world.

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#871 [url]

10 July, 2015 14:59:17

Texture editing is so addicting!
Leave no block unturned, I think.

So many different shades of mossy stone brick and that mayan face thing, the yellow one is a really nice look.

So many blocks just for mayan pyramids... Insane.

Never touch a texture pack,scneophyte, they take away all of your time. Too addictive.

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#872 [url]

11 July, 2015 13:02:46

Pretty abrupt...

Could you replace all diamond blocks with air, and all marble blocks with bedrock?

It's in My dropbox folder - 1 xandazoris folder - xandazoris cr (30something)

Thanks, not loads so don't worry too much.

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

SCneophyte

Moderator
Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,213 Member Since:19 December, 2014

#873 [url]

11 July, 2015 15:12:41

Texture-editing: I am warned.  I know better than to touch that stuff...

Block replacement: working on the code now.  Shouldn't be too difficult...but do you mean diamond ore or solid diamond block (I assume the latter, just checking!)

Mysterious chunk replacement: hmmm...the code only searches for repeated marble...I'm going with the seizure theory :)  But seriously, I better figure it out!  I'll test it again on a copy of the newest xandazoris

Shouldn't take me too long to get the code working since I just need to modify the existing code...

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#874 [url]

11 July, 2015 16:38:58

Block of course :)

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#875 [url]

11 July, 2015 16:44:47

As forth code, I know... But it was the only difference in the chunks... I completed the texture, finally. Let me know what you think quickly?

I also did a strange mayan face spewing water near the sinkhole, it needs some more work,buti'm confident that it will look great.

Texture stuff I did was I got a pic of a cannon, cut it out and made it symmetrical and put it on a bedrock block, and put that on thesemiconductor, which is now a cannon end.

Oh actually still got to fix up the electrics then I'll be done. (omg)

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

SCneophyte

Moderator
Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,213 Member Since:19 December, 2014

#876 [url]

11 July, 2015 17:21:58

The world is in 07Jul > 0711 > xandazoris cr(1).scworld

I had to do it by hand cause I'm not feeling well today...brain isn't working right...for example...I have to delete the embedded content because it corrupts the world when I rezip...so how is it that I can still see your texture in the world???  Only the xml file and the chunks file is in the zip file?!

What I've seen so far of the texture looks great.  I've hated the bookcase in other textures and yours is excellent.  My only critique is the window made out of the trap...it looks like there is no glass in the window so it's very two-dimensional feeling.  I'll check out more later

Your moss work is all very good and so is the cannon

One other thing...I had to fix the chunks file...I introduced some extra lines during the last round through my program.  It's nothing you would have noticed but just make sure everything looks / acts okay

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#877 [url]

11 July, 2015 18:00:00

I used glass and framed glass for traditional windows.

I redid all of the windows using plank parts to make it blend better with the ship. The texture you saw was just a bit of fun, I quite like it actually but I will take a look at it now and see what I could do.

I'll get the world in a bit, I don't want run out of mobile data :(

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

SCneophyte

Moderator
Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,213 Member Since:19 December, 2014

#878 [url]

13 July, 2015 17:20:12

Coding is so much fun! (that's not sarcasm).  Over the weekend I was using a little program I wrote that gives me the offsets of chunks (tells me the line number where a chunk starts).  I can specifiy the starting chunk and how many offsets I want.  

I would enter 900 because I know that's about the number of chunks in xandazoris and my code generated offsets much larger than was acutally in the file...according to my program you only had about 400 chunks.

I just figured out why: my program assumed the "400" was a hexidecimal number and changed it to base 10...oops!

I finally got to learning about classes and, once again, it makes me want to rewrite all my existing code.  Being a noob sucks!

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#879 [url]

14 July, 2015 16:14:25

Darn I'm becoming redundant, sorry with the late replies, scneophyte!

So you found the problem?

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
avatar

mrshots

Moderator
City Founder
Fully Fledged

Posts: 1,298 Member Since:17 September, 2014

#880 [url]

18 July, 2015 13:05:26

Hey! Just saying I'm starting back up on the world now, it's been school and I didn't have much time for it in between discovering new things such As caustic(mobile composing) and I've just generally been busy.

So not much progress, maybe an hours worth.

Sorry scneophyte, next week there should be more done :|

Noticed you became a mod at last :)

 


'You're only a terraformer when your most valuable block is dirt'

Check out my music:https://soundcloud.com/user696762693

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Add Reply

Quick Reply

bbcode help